Categories

Annie Bot

Greer, Sierra

$35.00

19 in stock

19 in stock

‘Witty, wicked, and weirdly addictive’ LIONEL SHRIVER

She’s human in every way that matters.
Annie is a robot, created to be the perfect girlfriend for her human owner, Doug. Playful and eager to please, she has dinner ready for him every night, wears the outfits he buys for her, and adjusts her libido to suit his whims. Maybe the apartment isn’t always spotless, but she’s trying to be good enough for Doug. She’s trying really hard.

But as Annie grows more self-aware, she begins to chafe against the borders of her life: the empty weeks spent confined to the apartment, the fitness regimens designed to keep her part-organic body toned, the service appointments to increase her bra size and shave inches off her waistline. Worst of all are Doug’s unpredictable moods, and the way he can punish her without even raising his voice.

Annie starts to imagine the impossible – what would life be like outside Doug’s apartment? What could she be like without Doug?

This powerful, provocative novel from a bold new voice examines the intricate relationship between creator and creation, between human and AI, exploring issues of trust, intimacy, power and autonomy.

Is a human soul something we are born with? Or is it something – through love, pain and other people – we can learn?

Review:

‘An intense, compelling tale’ GUARDIAN, Sci-Fi Book of the Month

‘An exquisitely written, empathetic novel that asks what it really means to be human’ RED

‘A smart dive into big questions about identity, autonomy and power… packs an impressive punch’ THE TIMES, Book of the Month

‘Slyly profound… a brilliant pas de deux, grappling with ideas of freedom and identity while depicting a perverse relationship in painful detail… gripping’ NEW YORK TIMES

‘Barbie for girls who like Aphex Twin’ SHEENA PATEL

‘A compelling story of power, consent and control in the age of AI’ GRAZIA

‘A dazzling, anxiety-inducing novel’ Scientific American magazine

‘A great fit for fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa’ NEW SCIENTIST

Format: Paperback
Pages: 240
Imprint: Borough Press
Publication date: 03/04/2024

Staff review

Annie Bot
By Sierra Greer
Review by Kazia

Annie may be a robot but her emotions and experiences are achingly familiar and so very, very human. I spent most of this book sitting in discomfort and rage and that desperate yearning to understand oneself. Such a raw and confronting debut novel. I have a feeling that Sierra Greer will be a writer to watch. A recommended read for those who enjoyed Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa.

You can also listen to Kazia’s review from RDU below:

ISBN: 9780008584573 Category: Tag