Staff Review: Yellowface

Yellowface

Rebecca F Kuang

Review by Alex P

This is such a fun book. The writing style is light and easy to read, and while the plot has its dark and serious moments, it’s a gripping and somewhat cheeky book. It perfectly encapsulates the hypocritical way of thinking in white feminism and racism (particularly within the world of publishing), without being heavy handed in its messages. It’s a beach read with substance. Rebecca F. Kuang has produced a gripping, hilarious satire – especially for anyone who has been involved in or curious about the book trade. Although very different from her previous fantasy novels, this is a clever literary scandal well worth a read. For fans of The Talented Mr Ripley and The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.