Staff Review: Bellies

Bellies

by Nicola Dinan

Review by Ray

A bittersweet and moving, character-driven novel about early adulthood and transition – gender transition, yes, but also the life transitions in and out of relationships, to different cities, to different jobs and creative projects. Through beautiful, understated prose and a deep care for her characters, Dinan explores the challenges and rewards of being vulnerable with the people and communities we love. Bellies is a sincere, at times funny, generous and carefully observed novel, perfect for fans of Sally Rooney’s Normal People and Conversations with Friends.