Categories

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Netflix tie-in cover)

Feldman, Deborah

$32.99

Out of stock

Out of stock

Temporarily out of stock

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this \”sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story\” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won’t be able to put down.

Format: Paperback
Pages: 272
Imprint: SIMON & SCHUSTER US
Publication date: 19/03/2020

Staff review

Unorthodox

by Deborah Feldman

Review by Claude

Undoubtedly one of the best books I've read all year, and for viewers of the acclaimed Netflix series, this is a compulsory read! Feldman crafts an enthralling and captivating story with her lyrical writing. Unorthodox is a fascinating looking-glass into religion and its impact on those that don't conform. It is also a story of hope and perseverance, something that we all need now more than ever. This raw, authentic portrayal of sacrifice and freedom is almost unbelievable. It's relevance and poignancy hasn't waned more than a decade on.