Categories

African History of Africa: From the Dawn of Humanity to Independence

Badawi, Zeinab

$40.00

8 in stock

8 in stock

Zeinab Badawi, award-winning broadcaster and President of SOAS, tells an epic story of the oldest inhabited continent in the world from an African perspective, for fans of William Dalrymple, David Olusoga and Peter Frankopan.

*Selected as a book to look out for in 2024 by the Guardian*

Everyone is originally from Africa, and this book is therefore for everyone.

For too long, Africa’s history has been dominated by western narratives of slavery and colonialism, or simply ignored. Now, Zeinab Badawi sets the record straight.

In this fascinating book, Badawi guides us through Africa’s spectacular history – from the very origins of our species, through ancient civilisations and medieval empires with remarkable queens and kings, to the miseries of conquest and the elation of independence. Visiting more than thirty African countries to interview countless historians, anthropologists, archaeologists and local storytellers, she unearths buried histories from across the continent and gives Africa its rightful place in our global story.

The result is a gripping new account of Africa- an epic, sweeping history of the oldest inhabited continent on the planet, told through the voices of Africans themselves.

Format: Paperback
Pages: 368
Imprint: W H Allen
Publication date: 23/04/2024

Staff review

An African History of Africa
By Zeinab Badawi
Review by Kazia

Badawi’s investigative journey across this rich and varied continent carries the refreshing eagerness of a friend relaying some newly-found knowledge with a passion that can only inspire similar interest. The uncomplicated writing and interesting subject matter had me wishing that the book was longer, so don’t let its size daunt you!

ISBN: 9780753560136 Categories: , Tag