Categories

What You Are Looking for is in the Library

Aoyama, Michiko

$37.00

4 in stock

4 in stock

At once heart-rending and heartwarming, this bestselling shortlistee of the Japan Booksellers’ Prize is a celebraton of community libraries and the life-changing power of book recommendation.

THE JAPANESE BESTSELLING NOVEL
SHORTLISTED FOR THE JAPAN BOOKSELLERS’ AWARD

‘I definitely want to visit this library. I feel kinder after this book’ 5***** Reader review
‘It made me laugh and cry. It made me feel comforted and warm inside’ 5***** Reader review
‘Wonderful. It made me look for connection in my life’ 5***** Reader review

FOR FANS OF THE MIDNIGHT LIBRARY AND BEFORE THE COFFEE GETS COLD, THIS CHARMING JAPANESE NOVEL SHOWS HOW THE PERFECT BOOK RECOMMENDATION CAN CHANGE A READER’S LIFE

_________________
What are you looking for?

So asks Tokyo’s most enigmatic librarian, Sayuri Komachi. She is no ordinary librarian. Naturally, she has read every book on her shelf, but she also has the unique ability to read the souls of anyone who walks through her door. Sensing exactly what they’re looking for in life, she provides just the book recommendation they never knew they needed to help them find it.

Every borrower in her library is at a different crossroads, from the restless retail assistant – can she ever get out of a dead-end job? – to the juggling new mother who dreams of becoming a magazine editor, and the meticulous accountant who yearns to own an antique store. The surprise book Komachi lends to each will change their lives for ever.

Which book will you recommend?

Format: Hardback
Pages: 256
Imprint: Doubleday UK
Publication date: 10/08/2023

Staff review

What You Are Looking for Is in The Library

by Michiko Aoyama

Review by Kazia

A cosy and gentle read, perfect for curling up with. The dash of magical realism in this book is a wonderful tribute to the very real and life-changing magic of libraries and librarians. If you need convincing that it is never too late to change careers, find a new hobby or follow your passions then this book is for you. An ode to joy and community, this is comfort fiction at its finest. Other great comfort reads of a similar ilk include Welcome to the Hyunam-Dong Bookshop and The Door-to-Door Bookstore.

ISBN: 9780857529121 Category: Tag