Categories

Tyranny of Merit: What’s Become of the Common Good?

Sandel, Michael J.

$26.00

2 in stock

2 in stock

One of the world’s leading philosophers on how we can restore social solidarity and overcome our rancorous politics

These are dangerous times for democracy. We live in an age of winners and losers, where the odds are stacked in favour of the already fortunate. Stalled social mobility and entrenched inequality give the lie to the promise that \”you can make it if you try\”. And the consequence is a brew of anger and frustration that has fuelled populist protest, with the triumph of Brexit and election of Donald Trump.

Michael J. Sandel argues that to overcome the polarized politics of our time, we must rethink the attitudes toward success and failure that have accompanied globalisation and rising inequality. Sandel highlights the hubris a meritocracy generates among the winners and the harsh judgement it imposes on those left behind. He offers an alternative way of thinking about success – more attentive to the role of luck in human affairs, more conducive to an ethic of humility, and more hospitable to a politics of the common good.

Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication date: 14/09/2021

Staff review

The Tyranny of Merit
by Michael Sandel
Review by Livvy
There have been many discussions and debates over recent years about the rise of meritocracy and what its role in society is. Sandel writes a compelling and intelligent critique, asking readers to consider the consequences of systems in which some are able to achieve the highest success, while others are left at the bottom. This book is absolutely fantastic – Sandel is one of the most crucial thinkers of our time!

For fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens.

ISBN: 9780141991177 Categories: , , Tag