Categories

These Burning Stars

Jacobs, Bethany

$29.99

1 in stock

1 in stock

‘Vivid, violent and visceral: an impressive debut’ Kate Elliott, author of Unconquerable Sun



Jun Ironway, hacker, con artist, and only occasional thief, has got her hands on a piece of contraband that could set her up for life: evidence that implicates the powerful Nightfoot family in a planet-wide genocide seventy-five years ago. The Nightfoots control the precious sevite that fuels interplanetary travel through three star systems. And someone is sure to pay handsomely for anything that could break their hold.



Of course, anything valuable is also dangerous. The Kindom, the ruling power of the three star systems, is inextricably tied up in the Nightfoots’ monopoly – and they can’t afford to let Jun expose the truth. They task two of their most brutal clerics with hunting her down: preternaturally stoic Chono, and brilliant hothead Esek, who also happens to be the heir to the Nightfoot empire.



But Chono and Esek are haunted in turn by a figure from their shared past, known only as Six. What Six truly wants is anyone’s guess. And the closer they get to finding Jun, the surer Chono is that Six is manipulating them all – and that they are heading for a bloody confrontation that no one will survive unscathed.



‘If I were to say that this was the best debut novel I’ve read in a long time, I would be doing it a disservice. It’s more than that – it’s one of the best SF books I’ve read. Period’ Michael Mammay, author of Planetside



‘With a cast of deliciously dangerous characters and a gloriously executed plot that twists like a knife, this propulsive debut heralds the start of a sweeping space opera saga in the vein of Ann Leckie and Alastair Reynolds. Bethany Jacobs is an ingenious worldbuilder and a stunning new voice to look out for in sci-fi’ Ren Hutchings, author of Under Fortunate Stars



‘Intricately plotted and tightly paced with a satisfying ending that sets the stage nicely for the next instalment. Space opera fans will eat this up’ Publishers Weekly

Format: Paperback
Pages: 464
Imprint: Orbit UK/Hachette
Publication date: 19/10/2023

ISBN: 9780356520070 Category: