Categories

Metamorphosis: A Life in Pieces

Douglas-Fairhurst, Robert

$30.00

3 in stock

3 in stock

For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heartbreaking book about how to live

A darkly comic and moving reflection on what it means to be human in a world where nothing is certain, from the award-winning Oxford professor

We all have trapdoors in our lives. Sometimes we jump off just in time … But sometimes we are unlucky. My own trapdoor was hidden in the consulting room of an Oxford neurologist.

When the trapdoor opened for Robert Douglas-Fairhurst, he plummeted into a world of MRI scans, a disobedient body and the crushing unpredictability of a multiple sclerosis diagnosis. But, like Alice tumbling into Wonderland, his fall did something else. It took him deep into his own mind- his hopes, his fears, his loves and losses, and the books that would sustain, inform and nourish him as his life began to transform in ways he could never have imagined.

From Kafka to Barbellion, this is a literary map of the journey from the kingdom of the well to the land of the sick, and forwards into a hopeful future. It’s an ode to great writing, to storytelling, to science and to the power of the imagination.

‘A pitch-perfect memoir- stylish, erudite, touchingly honest and darkly funny’ Jacqueline Wilson

Format: Paperback
Pages: 272
Imprint: Vintage UK
Publication date: 28/05/2024

ISBN: 9781529920796 Category: