Categories

Helle and Death

Jensen, Oskar

$36.99

3 in stock

3 in stock

‘A solid gold revival of the golden age whodunnit, with a delicious Danish twist’ – JANICE HALLETT
‘A love letter to the classic country house murder mystery’ – J.M. HALL
‘Wonderfully descriptive and loaded with atmosphere’ – IAN MOORE

A snowstorm. A country house. Old friends reunited.
It’s going to be murder…

Torben Helle – art historian, Danish expat and owner of several excellent Scandinavian jumpers – has been dragged to a remote snowbound Northumbrian mansion for a ten-year reunion with old university friends. Things start to go sideways when their host, a reclusive and irritating tech entrepreneur, makes some shocking revelations at the dinner table. And when these are followed by an apparent suicide, the group faces a test of their wits… and their trust.

Snowed in and cut off, surrounded by enigmatic housekeepers and off-duty police inspectors, not to mention a peculiar last will and testament, suspicion and sarcasm quickly turn to panic. As the temperature drops and the tension mounts, Torben decides to draw upon all the tricks of Golden Age detectives past in order to solve the mystery: how much money would it take to turn one of his old friends into a murderer? But he’d better be quick, or someone else might end up dead…

This witty murder mystery puts a modern spin on the classic country house whodunnit. A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie, Richard Osman and Janice Hallett.

Format: Paperback
Pages: 336
Imprint: Viper
Publication date: 18/01/2024

ISBN: 9781800811737 Category: