Cart

Categories

Breaks

$22.99

2 in stock

SKU: 9781914198007 Categories: ,

In The Breaks, Julietta Singh pens a luminous and moving letter to her six year-old daughter about race, climate change, and inheritance.

At school, Singh's daughter is learning about history, society and culture but at home she must learn to challenge and interrogate these stories. As Singh and her daughter discuss subjects as wide-ranging and interconnected as race, the legacies of colonialism, queer family-making, mass consumption and climate catastrophe, their conversations reveal how our survival depends on breaking with the stories we've been told, and reimagining the world for the better.

Working in the tradition of James Baldwin, Ta-Nehisi Coates and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and bringing us right up to the present day, Singh presents an intimate and remarkable vision of present collapse and future possibility.

Author: Singh, Julietta
Publication date: 09/09/2021
Imprint: Daunt Books
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781914198007

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.